Plains of Sand and Steel Blog Tour: Review + Giveaway

Posted June 16, 2017 by sophie in Blog, Blog Tours / 0 Comments

Plains of Sand and Steel Blog Tour: Review + Giveaway

Plains of Sand and Steel Blog Tour: Review + GiveawayPlains of Sand and Steel (Uncommon World, #2) by Alisha Klapheke
Published by Alisha Klapheke on June 16th 2017
Format: egalley
Series: Uncommon World #2
Source: Author Provided
Where to Buy:
Barnes & Noble|Amazon
Add to Goodreads

I received this book/movie for free from the above-listed publisher/studio in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book/movie or the content of my review.

4 Stars

Forced into marriage.

Chosen by Fire.

Determined to do what is right.

Seren will do anything to protect her people. Even if it means hiding the body of their dead ruler and telling a lie that could lead her to a brutal end.

As she struggles to accept her role as leader and fails to resist a mercenary she isn’t allowed to love, an army falls on her city. Seren fights to protect her friends—the only family she has left—but her newfound power turns a possible victory in to a storm of chaos.

We want to thank author Alisha Klapheke and of course, Rockstar Book Tours for including us in the Plains of Sand and Steel Blog Tour.

What a story, you guys! It’s a lush fantasy, which combines old world mythology with a plot that twists through political intrigue, a looming, inevitable invasion and a main character just beginning to understand her power. Now that my son’s high school graduation is over and all the year-end recitals have ended, I finally, FINALLY have time to read! The first book I picked up was Plains of Sand and Steel, and I finished it in 24 hours!

I know that usually you guys find me complaining about lack of tension in a plot. Well, there was plenty of it here. I’m not quite sure what kind of spell Alisha weaves that lulls the reader into completely falling into her story. Is it the strong main character, who is coming into her powers? Is it the well written side characters? Is it just the right amount of snark thrown in for good measure? Or is it the romance (whoa, caliente!)? The answers is all of the above.

Alisha’s world building makes you think back to ancient civilizations – a nod to maybe Turkish or Greek or Middle Eastern cultures of old. But, it’s still fantasy, so there’s a richness of detail (but, not overly so) in describing places and people that seemly vaguely familiar from my history books.

In summer, I mostly read contemporary stories, but my undying love for fantasy always leads me to pick up a high fantasy or two. If you’re like me, add Plains of Sand and Steel to your summer TBR. It’s definitely a book for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Marie Lu, Amy Tintera and Sarah J Maas.

 

Make sure to grab the companion novels in the Uncommon World Series!

WATERS OF SALT AND SIN

Amazon | B&N | TBD

Set in a lush, high-fantasy world inspired by ancient Mediterranean cultures, Waters of Salt and Sin is perfect for Game of Thrones and Sabaa Tahir fans.

When seventeen-year-old salt witch Kinneret learns of a lost island of silver, she sets out to find it, raise her status, and finally have a chance to wed Calev, the high-caste friend she secretly loves.

But when a madman enslaves her sister, Kinneret must make a deal with the local ruler: Find the island to secure the ruler’s place in history. In return, the woman’s fighting sailors will rescue Kinneret’s sister.

Using Salt Magic to navigate cursed waters, Kinneret and Calev struggle to hide their taboo, caste-breaking feelings, knowing if the ruler witnesses the attraction, she will cancel the agreement. But when Calev makes a terrible mistake, Kinneret must choose between the life of her only remaining family member and saving the boy she loves from a traitor’s death.

 

FEVER

Amazon

A journey to a foreign city, a desperate girl, and a fever spreading like wildfire.

Following Waters of Salt and Sin, Uncommon Book One, Fever takes us to the Empire’s capitol in the desert plains along with Calev and Avi.

Despite his retinue being laid low with a fever along the road to the capitol, Calev rides on, determined to present an important document to the Empire’s ruler to preserve peace in his homeland and prove his ability to become Old Farm’s chairman. Avi, days behind him, holds a terrible secret Calev must learn before it’s too late. The fever has hit Kinneret, and Avi believes only Calev can save her.

 

G  I   V  E  W  A  Y

1 winner will receive signed paperbacks of WATERS OF SALT AND SIN, FEVER, and PLAINS OF SAND AND STEEL & Swag (Stickers & A Signed Map), AND Paperbacks of AIR AWAKENS by Elise Kova & FIRST YEAR by Rachel E. Carter, US Only.

3 winners will receive eBooks of WATERS OF SALT AND SIN, FEVER, and PLAINS OF SAND AND STEEL, International.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Don’t forget to check out the other tour stops below for more chances to enter the giveaway and to learn about this wonderful series through author interviews, excerpts, spotlights and guest posts.

 

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

6/5/2017- MNBernard Books– Interview

6/5/2017- Pooled Ink– Review

6/6/2017- The Autumn Bookshelf– Review

6/6/2017- Rachel’s Book Reviews– Review

6/7/2017- Novel Novice– Excerpt

6/7/2017- Hooked To Books– Review

6/8/2017- Taking It One Book at a Time– Review

6/8/2017- Bibliobibuli YA– Review

6/9/2017- Wandering Bark Books– Excerpt

6/9/2017- PC Book Reviews– Guest Post

 

Week Two:

6/12/2017- Fiction Fare– Guest Post

6/12/2017- What the Cat Read– Review

6/13/2017- Two Chicks on Books– Interview

6/13/2017- Why I Read– Review

6/14/2017- Booklove– Review

6/14/2017- Just Another Bookaholic– Spotlight

6/15/2017- Crystal’s Chaotic Confessions– Excerpt

6/15/2017- BookHounds YA– Review

6/16/2017- BookBriefs– Review

6/16/2017- Page Turners Blog– Review

 

 

About Alisha:

Award-winning author Alisha Klapheke wants to infuse your life with unique magic, far-flung fantasy settings, and romance. Her inspiration springs from medieval art and artifacts, the world travel she enjoys with her husband, and the fantasy she grew up reading when she was supposed to be doing her math homework.

When she’s not writing, Alisha teaches Thai kickboxing, Brazilian jiu jitsu, and krav maga at her family’s dojo just outside of Nashville. That may be why writing fight scenes is her favorite.

Kathleen Rushall of Andrea Brown Literary Agency represents Alisha in all things books.

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram

4 Stars
sophie

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,617 other subscribers

Divider

Leave a Reply