A Court of Thorns and Roses Book Review

Posted July 13, 2016 by sophie in Blog / 2 Comments

A Court of Thorns and Roses Book ReviewA Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1) Published by Bloomsbury Children's on May 5th 2015
Format: ebook, Hardcover
Source: Purchased
Add to Goodreads
3 Stars

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it... or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

I finally finished this book. Not sure, again (see my review of The Winner’s Kiss if it’s me or if it’s Sarah’s style of plot, but I didn’t feel this book deeply enough to give it a higher rating.

What I Liked:
The Court Systems and Political Intrigue: This always ranks high on my list whenever I’m reading a high fantasy setting. Sarah described the courts and their allegiances/wars well. I felt like I understood them and the level of explanation was just right (in other words, Sarah avoided the over-explaining trap that is often found in this genre).

The Beauty and Beast Plot: It’s one of my standby favorite plots. Family ties, stomach-turning kidnapping and Stockholm Syndrome. This makes for a heart-thumping read in most cases.

What I Didn’t Like:
The Beauty and Beast Plot: Stockholm Syndrome. It makes me want to scream, “Run the bleep away, woman!”, and it does so EVERY SINGLE TIME I read it.

Feyre: Where do I begin with her inconsistencies. I know it can all be written away as Stockholm Syndrome/PTSD, but something about her didn’t ring true to me. Maybe it was her reliance on painting that was quickly swept away by other plot points. Maybe it was her strong huntress character (I think Katniss Everdeen exemplifies the best of this character type and Feyre isn’t even close). Maybe it was how quickly she fell for her captor. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but something, something felt off. And much like in Throne of Glass, I found myself not connecting with her at all. Not on any level. While that isn’t a must-have requirement, it left me watching everything unfold from the sidelines instead of being in the midst of all the action.

Plodding Middle: The story was so chock full o’ action in the beginning, and then something happened that just sloooooooooowed the plot down and ground the stakes to a halt. I find myself wondering why high fantasy books are so long. ACoTaR is long because you realize in somewhere in the middle of the book that Feyre is not attempting to return home, and that she has fallen in love with Tamlin. Are you yawning because I was. Suddenly, the real villain, Amaratha, is introduced and the action picks up, but not before there is a long lull of many, many pages where nothing much happens.

The Dreaded Love Triangle: Feel free to roll your eyes with me all you Love Triangle Haters, because oh yeah, you can see this one coming like a freight train rolling along. I won’t spoil it, but it’s obviously there, so yeah, whooooosh.

Neat and Tidy Conclusion: Again, I rolled my eyes at this one. Something about it felt overly neat. I won’t spoil it, but it was simply too fast (especially after the lull) and it was too tidy. It does, however, set up for a great sequel if you care enough to come along for the ride. As for me, yes, I will probably read it, but not for a while. I’m going to keep searching for that summer read that truly immerses me in its story.

3 Stars
sophie

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,085 other subscribers

Divider

2 responses to “A Court of Thorns and Roses Book Review

  1. This is my current read now. I have just over 100 pages left so hoping to finish it sometime today!

    I have a funny feeling my star rating is also going to be a 3 simply because I’m enjoying it but it’s not exactly wowing me…

    chloreads.blogspot.co.uk 💙💙

    • Sophie

      I’ve heard that the second book is a lot better, and I am planning on reading it just not right now.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.