“Waiting on” Wednesday

Posted December 22, 2010 by Pixie in Uncategorized / 25 Comments

“Waiting On”  Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Jill at Breaking  the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This weeks WoW…   

Exposed by Kimberly Marcus


In the dim light of the darkroom, I’m alone, but not for long.
As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.
The background of the dance studio blurred, so the focus is all on her
legs extended in a perfect soaring split.
The straight line to my squiggle,
my forever-best friend.

Sixteen-year-old Liz Grayson is photogirl—sharp, focused and ready to take the world by storm with her camera. But Liz’s entire life is called into question when her brother is accused of a crime—and the accuser is Liz’s own best friend. As the aftershocks from that accusation rip through Liz’s world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship and herself, shifts out of focus. And for the first time in her life, Liz finds herself unable to trust her own point of view. Told in stunning, searingly raw free verse,  Exposed is Kimberly Marcus’s gut-wrenching, riveting debut and will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson and Virginia Euwer Wolff.
Why We Want It: 
Sounds interesting and I loved the cover.
Pixie

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15,085 other subscribers

Divider

25 responses to ““Waiting on” Wednesday

  1. OMG!!! The cover is gorgeous! 😀 The story seems really interesting and haunting. Great pick! Will definitely have to add it to my TBR list! Thanks for sharing~

    Hugs and cookies,
    Louisse

  2. How to Knit a Heart Back Home
    By Rachael Herron
    Publication date: March 1, 2011

    Lucy Harrison sells books by day and volunteers with the Cypress Hollow fire department by night. Her life is just the way she likes it—full, even-keeled, and smooth—until bad-boy ex-cop Owen Bancroft comes back to town. Lucy has always been fearless, never scared about diving in to help others. When it comes to risking her heart, however, she realizes she's absolutely terrified.

    In a small town like Cypress Hollow, everyone knows your business—and there is nowhere to hide. Then Lucy and Owen are thrown together by the discovery of the lost work of local legend, knitting guru Eliza Carpenter. Now Owen, adrift and struggling to redefine himself as a civilian without a badge, will have to learn how to open himself up to life's new possibilities . . . while Lucy decides just how much of herself she's willing to gamble on love.

  3. This one does sound good, and I'm interested in reading it. Sometimes books written entirely in verse take me a while to get through. Great pick!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.